Wednesday, 28 November 2012

PHOTOSHOP 4 _How to do Professional Facial Retouching

Step 1

Open photo and resize it by using Image > Image Size to 1500 px width and 1000px height.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 1

Step 2

Let’s start by correcting color on photo. Copy layer by using Ctrl+J. Blur photo a bit using Fliter > Blur > Gaussian Blur with following parameters:
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 2
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 3

Step 3

Change layer blending mode to Color for this layer.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 4

Step 4

Go to Layer > Layer Style > Blending Options and on Advanced Blending remove check marks from R and G channels.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 5
Now adjust color slightly to your taste on this layer using Image > Adjustments > Curves.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 6
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 7

Step 5

Now we are going to remove skin defects. Create a new layer. Choose the Healing Brush Tool, then select Sampled in Source parameter and select All Layers for Sample parameter. Choose the part of the face, that we’ll be using as a sample.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 8

Step 6

Using the Healing Brush Tool (choose soft edges of the brush) and holding the Alt button we choose the most clear skin area, then overlay the sample image on the problem skin area to remove the defect.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 9

Step 7

Then go to forehead area and remove defects by using the same method.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 10

Step 8

We also remove small wrinkles that possibly annoys the eye (still working with the Healing Brush Tool).
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 11

Step 9

In the end we should have the following result:
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 12
You can see on photo below where i applied Healing Brush Tool:
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 12a

Step 10

Up to this moment we should have three layers – bottom layer (original photo), layer with color correction and the upper layer, on which we have carried out skin cleaning. Copy all the three layers twice by using Ctrl+J for each layer, then move the copies of the three layers grouping them like on image below. Finally merge both new layer groups together, using Ctrl+E and you will have five layers. Temporarily turn off visibility of the upper layer and work on the other layer (Layer 1 copy).
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 12b

Step 11

We are going to work on creating the perfect skin texture. Choose the Polygonal Lasso Tool and select the face (it’s not necessary to select regularly).
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 13

Step 12

Invert the selection using Select > Inverse and delete everything that is situated in the selected area by pressing Delete button. On the layer you should only have the face now. Select eyebrow area using the Polygonal Lasso Tool and delete it using Delete button.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 14

Step 13

Press Ctrl+D to deselect selected area. Remove the second eyebrow and start deleting eyes on the same way.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 15

Step 14

Now do the same thing to the lips area.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 16
If you turn off visibility on all other layers you can see we should have something like a mask on layer. Turn back on visibility on all layers except upper layer.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 17

Step 15

Apply Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur to this layer with following settings:
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 18
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 19

Step 16

Change layer opacity to 65%.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 20

Step 17

Turn on visibility of the upper layer.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 21
Create Clipping Mask for this layer using Layer > Create Clipping Mask. Apply Filter > Other > High Pass with following settings:
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 22
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 23

Step 18

Change blending mode on this layer to Linear Light.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 24

Step 19

Change layer opacity to 50% for this layer.
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 25

Step 20

You can stop here if you’re satisfied with the result. But there are too many red and yellow color tones on the portrait, sometimes it can be noticeable on the last steps, as in this case. It can be easily corrected, for this purpose merge all the layers into one using Ctrl+Shift+E and apply Image > Adjustments > Color Balance with the following parameters to newly created layer:
How to do Professional Facial Retouching 26

Final Image

How to do Professional Facial Retouching
Now this tutorial is complete. You can make extra color correction as well or convert photos to grayscale or sepia mode. Hope this tutorial was useful to you.
READ MORE - PHOTOSHOP 4 _How to do Professional Facial Retouching

PHOTOSHOP 6_ SIMPLE GOLD TEXT EFFECT

Step 1: Setting the Stage

Let’s start by making a new document in Photoshop. I created a new document sized 500 x 500 pixels with all the default settings, RGB, 72 DPI, etc.
After creating your document, set the Foreground color to #393943 and the Background color to #100e19, then fill the Background with a Radial Gradient.
Duplicate the Background layer (Ctrl+J).
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 1
Double click the “Background copy” layer to apply a Pattern Overlay layer style. Change the Blend Mode to Multiply, the Opacity to 70%, and the Scale to 25%. Use the starnetblog_tileable_metal_texture8.jpg image from the 9 tileable metal textures pack, (it is also the second pattern in the .pat file), as the Pattern.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 2
You can play around with the values, for example, other good layer modes to use in this case are Soft Light, Vivid Light, and Color Dodge. You can as well choose different patterns, but you might need to adjust the Scale value if you do so.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 3
Get out the Rectangular Marquee Tool. Click the Add to Selection icon in the Options bar at the top, and set the Style to Fixed Size, then type 50% in both the Width and Height boxes. Drag your selection onto the canvas then into the bottom right corner of your canvas, do the same but in the top left corner.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 4
Create a new layer on top of all layers and call it “Dark Squares”, and fill the selections with the Background color (#100e19). Go to Select -> Deselect (or press Ctrl + D) to get rid of the selections.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 5
Lower the Opacity for this layer to 25%.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 6
Use a large soft brush to erase away the center (middle area) of the squares, so you get something like this:
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 7
Create a new layer on top of all layers and call it “Light Squares”. Repeate the previous steps to create two more selections in the empty corners, and this time use the Foreground color (#393943) to fill the selections.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 8
Create another new layer on top of all layers and call it “Grunge Brush”. Use the brushes from the Grungy Brush package to add a bit of grunge at the bottom of the document, using the Foreground color (#393943) as the brush color.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 9
Change the layer’s Blend Mode to Multiply and lower the Opacity to something around 40%.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 10

Step 2: Setting Up your Text

This is the easy part. Get out the Horizontal Type Tool (T) and write your text in whatever color you want. The font used is Impact, and the size is 80px. You can use any other font you like, bolder fonts give a better result.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 11
Double click the text layer to apply the following Layer Styles:
- Drop Shadow: Change the Opacity to 85%, the Distance to 2, and the Size to 15.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 12
- Inner Shadow: Change the Blend Mode to Color Dodge, the color to #a98e0f, the Opacity to 50%, the Distance to 1, and the Size to 0.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 13
- Inner Glow: Change the Blend Mode to Linear Dodge, the Opacity to 55%, the color to #fae48f, the Size to 3, and the Range to 70%.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 14
- Gradient Overlay: Check the Reverse box, and change the Scale to 55%.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 15
Click the Gradient box to create the gradient using the colors #fae48f, #ffc230 and #9f7f00. Position the color stops as shown below:
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 16
This is how your text should look like after applying the Layer Styles:
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 17
The last thing we’re going to do is adding some sparkles! So create a new layer on top of all layers, set the Foreground color to white, and use a sparkles brush to create some sparkles around your text.
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect 18

Final Image

And that’s it! This is what your text should look like:
Creating Simple Gold Text Effect
READ MORE - PHOTOSHOP 6_ SIMPLE GOLD TEXT EFFECT

PHOTOSHOP 5_CREATE PARTY TEXT EFFECT

Step 1

Create a new document that is 1350 x 1000 px. Set the Foreground color to #525252, and the Background color to #0d0d0d. Create a Radial Gradient from the center of the document to one of it corners making sure that you selected Foreground to Background gradient preset.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect b1
Go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise. Set the Amount to 5, the Distribution to Uniform, and check the Monochromatic box.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect b2

Step 2

Create the text using the color #ffeb0f. The font used is Titania and the size is 377px. Duplicate the text layer so you have two copies.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 1
Double click on the copy text layer (the one on the top) to apply the following styles:
- Drop Shadow: Change the color to #383838, and the Size to 10.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 2
- Inner Shadow: Change the color to #625841, the Size to 13, and the Contour to Half Round.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 3
- Bevel and Emboss: Change the Depth to 450, the Size to 10, the Gloss Contour to Log, and check the Anti-aliased box. Also, change the Highlight Mode color to #fff119, and the Shadow Mode color to #8a7b3e.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 4
- Contour: Just check the Anti-aliased box
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 5
This is what the text should look like:
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 6

Step 3

Press the Ctrl/Command key, and while still pressing, click on the text layer thumbnail (icon) to create a selection.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 7
Set the Foreground color to #7d6905 and the Background color to #d3c614. Create a new layer on top of all layers and call it “texture”. Fill the selection with the Foreground color, and press Ctrl/Command + D to get rid of the selection.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 8

Step 4

Now, we are going to use a couple of filters to create the sparkly texture. Start by going to Filter > Sketch > Notepaper. Change the Image Balance to 25, the Graininess to 10, and the Relief to 11.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 9
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 10
Go to Filter > Texture > Stained Glass. Change the Cell Size to 2, the Border Thickness to 4, and the Light Intensity to 1. The Light Intensity property adds brightness to the center of the texture, so you can increase the value if you want more brightness in the center.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 11
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 12
Finally, go to Filter > Stylize > Glowing Edges. Change the Egde Width to 2, the Edge Brightness to 10, and the Smoothness to 5.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 13
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 14
Change the “texture” layer’s Blend Mode to Overlay.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 15
That’s it for the text effect. Next, we’re going to add some sparkles using the Brush tool.

Step 5

Open the Brush panel (Window > Brush), and choose a hard round brush. Change the size to 10px, and set the Spacing to something around 322%.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 16
Under Shape Dynamics, change the Size Jitter to 100%, the Roundness Jitter to 62%, and the Minimum Roundness to 25%.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 17
Under Scattering, Change the Scatter value to 431%.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 18
Finally, under Color Dynamics, change the Foreground/Background Jitter to 100%, and the Brightness Jitter to 50%. This will give the sparkles different brightness and color values.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 19

Step 6

Right click on the text layer, and choose Create Work Path.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 20
Make the color #d3c614 the Foreground color, and change the Background color to #ffff08. Create a new layer on top of all layers and call it “sparkles”, and grab the Direct Selection Tool.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 21
Right click on the path, and choose Stroke Path.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 22
Choose Brush from the Tool drop down menu, and make sure the Simulate Pressure box is un-checked.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 23
This will stroke the path with the brush you’ve just created.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 24
Change the “sparkles” layer’s Blend Mode to Linear Light.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 25

Step 7

The last thing we’re going to do is add more shadow to the text, so that it blends more with the background, and has more depth. To do that, Double click on the original (bottom) text layer, un-check the Use Global Light box (as we want to change the direction of the shadow), and change the Angle to -20. Also, change the Distance to 8, and the Size to 10.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 26
Change the Fill value of the original text layer to 0, so that only the shadow is visible.
Learn to Create Party Text Effect 27

Final Image

Learn to Create Party Text Effect
READ MORE - PHOTOSHOP 5_CREATE PARTY TEXT EFFECT